The leader in Small Ship, River Cruising, and Land Tour discoveries worldwide
Contact Us 1-800-221-2610
Grand Circle Cruise Line Reviews The Leader in Small Ship and River Cruising Worldwide
Grand Circle Travel Reviews Worldwide Discovery at Extraordinary Value Since 1958
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel is proud of the discovery-rich and value-packed vacations we’ve been offering travelers for more than 55 years. We believe there’s no better way to learn about our trips than by reading what travelers like you have to say about their experiences in unedited and unbiased Grand Circle Travel reviews, such as those displayed below. In them, learn about the gems of Old World Europe on one of Grand Circle Cruise Line’s award-winning River Cruise or Small Ships, during which you’ll enjoy intimate, unique experiences; or witness the breathtaking beauty of Italy’s rolling hills on an enriching Grand Circle Travel Land Tour. Whether enjoying up-close-and-personal discoveries led by our expert, resident Program Directors; connecting with local culture during exclusive Discovery Series events like Home-Hosted visits; or making memories independently during your leisure time, our vacations are the right combination of pacing and discovery for American travelers 50 and older.

Grand Circle Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.7   4.7 | 647 reviews
590 out of 647 (91%) reviewers would recommend Grand Circle Travel or Grand Circle Cruise Line
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   517
4 ★   75
3 ★   29
2 ★   16
1 ★   10
Rating Summary
Accomodations   4
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Grand Circle Travel Reviews

The Rivieras: France, Italy & the Isles

Bella Italia via The Rivieras

5   2 years ago
We enjoyed a wonderful trip to Florence where we toured the city as well as the Chianti optional tour. Paolo was an excellent program director who shared wonderful insights of the places we visited. Then on the M/V Arethusa, we enjoyed the cruise as we visited a family for lunch in Elba. The cruise took us to wonderful ports of call which we enjoyed touring and luncheons as various cafes and restaurants. Since we could not safely sail due to weather, Corsica was replaced with a wonderful day trip to Pisa. Grand Circle and our PD, Paolo, had all contingency plans running smoothly.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Old World Prague & the Blue Danube

50 Year Travel Friends

5   1 year ago
It continues to amaze me that each time I return home form a GCT, OAT or GCCL trip that my first comment is that this was the best home visit, the best school visit, and the best learning and discovery experience. And always that this was the very best Program Director! So what made Old World Prague and the Blue Danube trip so special? My friend, Kay, and I picked this trip to celebrate 50 years since our 1st European trip when we traveled by Eurail and carried our own luggage. We chose this trip so that we didn?t need to carry our own luggage, we could see Eastern and Central Europe and not have to find our own lodging. Since my husband and I had 12 prior trips with GCT I knew we were in for many treats and few worries. Our program director, Peter, provided many unexpected learning and discovery opportunities, helped us plan so we were able to utilize every minute of our free time using public transportation. Because we were with a group we had opportunities to individually choose optional trips. We certainly won?t wait 50 years for another girlfriend trip.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1

Grand Baltic Sea Voyage

Another Fabulous Trip

5   2 years ago
we have just completed another fabulous trip with GCCL. The Corinthian cabins should not be called cabins, they are beyond spacious. Imagine, a walk in closet !!!!! The crew was excellent in every way, most especially to my husband who is somewhat disabled. The food and dining room service was also exactly what I expected, superb. Thank you GCT
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

NEW! Bordeaux: Vineyards, Vintages & Chateaux

A Tour of Wine and Roses

5   2 years ago
I?ll start my review by saying that of my 14 OAT/GCT trips, this is my favorite. It?s not your average trip, but a superb combination of land tour and river cruise. It?s far more active than most river cruises; I was very glad to have comfortable walking shoes. The pacing, I felt, was excellent and I appreciated the chance to get a taste of the Loire Valley and to see so much of Southwest France. Several important points: There really was an emphasis on wineries; we visited several, very different, but all offering great tastings. One of the optionals offered two more wineries and the home-hosted has been replaced by a visit to a family-owned winery (we were divided into groups and visited different ones). Many of these establishments had beautiful old buildings and lush gardens, including some of the loveliest roses I?ve ever seen. There are many meals _on your own?. This wasn?t a problem for me, I usually have my main meal at lunch and I found the prices comparable with those here in Southern California. Also, we had several picnics, just buying wine, bread, cheese, desserts, etc at one of the convenient grocery stores. The hotels were clean and pleasant, but, more importantly, very well located. Les Jardins du Marais was in easy walking distance of the Place des Vosges and the Carnavalet Museum, as well as the metro and the bus lines. On the post-trip the Best Western Capitouls, quirky, but clean and comfortable, was right in the heart of the town center, with restaurants, shopping, and parks nearby. The River Chanson is a lovely ship, very comfortable, with the usual wonderful GCT staff. On this trip, the ship does not sail very much, but usually goes from one small town to the next. Take this into consideration: if you enjoy long days of sailing, looking at the passing scenery, you may be disappointed A shout-out to our wonderful guides, Barbara Teetsov and Heloise Amboise. Ladies, you made my trip marvelous!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Ireland in Depth

"Coming Home Again"

5   1 year ago
This trip to me was a coming home experience. My heritage is Irish and the minute I stepped off the plane I felt like I was experiencing an homecoming. In particular the pre-trip to Belfast and Derry. Never having been there before it was a great experience. I cannot say enough about this trip as I will always hold it dear to my heart. Our tour guide Sheila and bus driver Tom was absolutely fantastic, as was the city guides in Belfast and Derry as well as Dave in Dublin. So professional but so nice and comfortable to be with. A definite yes, yes, yes do this trip to those making a decision about it.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Christmas Markets Along the Danube

Fantastic Trip with Excitement and Great Fun

5   1 year ago
We chose to take the pre-trip to Vienna and post-trip to Munich along with the river cruise. Vienna was wonderful. Our PD, Randy, was there to greet us at the hotel when we arrived and had things planned if we wanted to join in within an hour. We learned where we were on the U-Bann (underground) and the stops we would most likely use. We got into the Christmas Markets right away by St. Stephans and then walked to the market by the Hofburg Palace. That night after the welcome drink, we could join anyone to go to a local restaurant with traditional food. It was great and very reasonable. On the other days, we toured on our own the Hofburg Palace, Schoenbrunn Palace, the Christmas Markets at the Rathouse, Maria Teresa and Karlplatz. We were so busy that we did not get a chance to go to the Fine Arts Museum. We did see the horses at the Spanish Riding School and toured the Treasury. On our last day in Vienna, we boarded the boat. Our first stop was Melk Abbey. I had been to the Abbey before and found more things to see again. The Christmas Market was open and there were delightful shops in the small city. The shop keepers were delightful as well as helpful. Our group of shoppers kept the economy going here with purchases of local items. Like Vienna, the area was well decorated for Christmas. We walked back to the ship in time to enjoy a gathering. We arrived so that we were in Linz when got ready for the day. We took the trip to Salzburg. The tour and the markets there were exceptional. Salzburg is a beautiful city with beautiful windows with traditional dress and Christmas decorations and gifts. We saw at least 3 markets and then had lunch with everyone at a lovely banquet hall beautifully decorated for the season. The meal was a local menu with good service and a chance to meet more new people. We got back in time to go to the Linz Christmas Market which was a couple blocks from the ship. Another fun place to see what was happening and what was offered for sale. The next 4 days were in Germany - Passau, Regensburg and Nuremberg. Again, more beautiful churches and markets. Nuremberg was so large and at a distance from the ship that we had to take the shuttle back and forth to the city. Regensburg had a lovely Gothic cathedral and the city where we heard the Regensburg Boys Choir. They were exceptional and provided us with a grand concert. It rained so much in Passau and on a Sunday that we saw little but the walking tour, the church service and the market from underneath an umbrella. The markets were slightly different from each other and from those in Austria. There were things so typically German and different bratwurst to try. After boarding the ship in Vienna, we joined our PD for the rest of the trip. Mickey, like Randy was delightful. She made sure that if there was something special to see or we wanted to do something unique, she helped us do it. oN the way to Munich, we stopped at Rothenburg for several hours. I wanted to see the Toppler house that was about a mile from the city. She showed me where I could go to see it., In Munich, after our tour, if we wanted to join the group, we could go to a local coffee shop where most tourists don't see for speciality pastry and coffee. Mickey also arranged for us to join a group tour to King Ludwig II's castles and Oberammergau on our last day when the optional tour was cancelled. We enjoyed every minute of the trip. The ship Adagio was a great experience as usual. The food was outstanding and the waiter made sure I got Hazelnut ice cream whenever I wanted it. The shopping was fun and meeting the locals and the other passengers was great! Who could ask for anything more?
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

England, Scotland & Wales

A jolly good time had by all!

5   2 years ago
We learned so much about the people, history and legends of the UK and its components - England, Wales, and Scotland. Our fellow travelers were a warm, friendly, adventurous group who we were able to get to know - it was just the right number of people. Our Program Leader provided information and guidance to help us maximize this whirlwind tour that left us wanting to experience and learn even more about this emerald isle, its rich past and evolving future.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Italy: Tuscany, the Alps & the Riviera

Extraordinary and varied landscapes!

5   1 year ago
This trip was extraordinary because it included so many different landscapes and scenery; from the seasides to the mountains and cityscapes. We loved every minute of this trip!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

The Best of Eastern Europe

My Best of Eastern Europe

5   2 years ago
All the cities visited had fancy palaces and elaborate cathedrals. Here are some other things I found worthwhile in each. Berlin: Many interesting places to visit, Checkpoint Charlie, the Wall Memorial, Holocaust Memorial, Museum Island, the Parliament building, Brandenburg Gate. Very easy to use public transportation system, and I attended a wondrous concert by the Berlin symphony at the Philharmonic. I didn't like the currywurst but it's a must try while in Berlin. Warsaw: If you saw the movie "The Pianist", you know that almost the entire city was destroyed during the War, so everything had to be rebuilt. I found two new museums to be fascinating, the Uprising museum (about the Polish uprising against the Germans during the final months of the World War II), and the Polish Jewish History museum. Krakow: my favorite city on this trip. The Old Town Square, Oskar Schindler museum, Jewish quarter at night, the salt mines, Auswitz and Berkenaur concentration camps, plus a visit to the Polish countryside, all great. Prague: this city was not damaged during the war, so many great old buildings, and fun to walk around these old areas. Unfortunately our hotel was far from the city center which made things difficult. Plus there were tons of tourists, so it was very crowded around the Old Clock and Charles Bridge. Saw a free concert at the Old Square during sunset, very enjoyable. Budapest: probably the city with the best food, try the cold fruit soups, grilled white cheese, the carbonated drink with elderberry syrup, sausages, duck, and the dessert wine made from winkled moldy grapes. The views during the night time cruise along the Danube were spectacular.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Spain & Portugal in Depth

This Was My First GCT Trip and It Was Fantastic!!!

5   1 year ago
Our Program Director, Ramon Romero, was passionate, caring, knowledgable and very entertaining. The pace of activities was brisk, but there was plenty of opportunity to rest or do your own thing if you do desired. The motels where we stayed exceeded my expectations -- they were well located and upscale. Our group got in and out of sites with expedited help from our program director. It was truly amazing how fast and easily he could get us into and through sites we visited. The optional activities of the Escatorial and Tanger were wonderful and well priced. I found the entire tour well worth the cost. My friends, who have often been bored by presentations on other company tours were intrigued by all of the presentations on this trip. The bus was very comfortable. I highly recommend this tour. Please see John and Bev's review for a complete breakdown of everything we did.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends
1 to 10 of 647 reviews