The leader in Small Ship, River Cruising, and Land Tour discoveries worldwide
Contact Us 1-800-221-2610
Grand Circle Cruise Line Reviews The Leader in Small Ship and River Cruising Worldwide
Grand Circle Travel Reviews Worldwide Discovery at Extraordinary Value Since 1958
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel is proud of the discovery-rich and value-packed vacations we’ve been offering travelers for more than 55 years. We believe there’s no better way to learn about our trips than by reading what travelers like you have to say about their experiences in unedited and unbiased Grand Circle Travel reviews, such as those displayed below. In them, learn about the gems of Old World Europe on one of Grand Circle Cruise Line’s award-winning River Cruise or Small Ships, during which you’ll enjoy intimate, unique experiences; or witness the breathtaking beauty of Italy’s rolling hills on an enriching Grand Circle Travel Land Tour. Whether enjoying up-close-and-personal discoveries led by our expert, resident Program Directors; connecting with local culture during exclusive Discovery Series events like Home-Hosted visits; or making memories independently during your leisure time, our vacations are the right combination of pacing and discovery for American travelers 50 and older.

Grand Circle Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.7   4.7 | 647 reviews
590 out of 647 (91%) reviewers would recommend Grand Circle Travel or Grand Circle Cruise Line
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   517
4 ★   75
3 ★   29
2 ★   16
1 ★   10
Rating Summary
Accomodations   4
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Grand Circle Travel Reviews

England, Scotland & Wales

An Ideal Trip to Take as a Single

5   2 years ago
I took this tour as a single traveler, and I loved every day of it. There were several other single women along, and we enjoyed doing things together in our free time. I loved going back to the quiet of my own room every evening, and was ready for adventure again the next day. This is an ideal trip to take as a single.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Hidden Gems of the Dalmatian Coast & Greece

A Part of the World That Has to be Seen!!

4   2 years ago
This is one of the most beautiful places on earth. The cities, people, food and environment make a memorable adventure. Here are two videos that I created which give some of the highlights: The Dalmatian Coast = https://youtu.be/SMYrx6Lun6U Greece = https://youtu.be/eyd-qMuZSgM
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Cultural Crossroads Portugal Morocco Spain

Even an interrupted trip is a success!

4   2 years ago
We were on the first trip of 2015. After completing the pre-trip and two delightful nights on the Corinthian, our trip was interrupted due to engine trouble. The ship returned to Lisbon and passengers returned home on itineraries put together by Grand Circle. We loved the pre-trip and the time spent in Lisbon before and after the notification that we would be leaving early. Portugal is an amazing country with a lot of history most of us know little about. It is also the home of Port wine and many lovely vineyards and wineries. Many areas around Lisbon appeared to be recently redeveloped to appeal to visitors, so if you have traveled there before you might be pleasantly surprised with the improvements. Grand Circle and our four outstanding Program Directors did an amazing job accommodating all the needs of the travelers and really need to be commended for dealing efficiently with a difficult situation.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Crossroads of Turkey

Turkey the Magnificient

5   2 years ago
Crossroads of Turkey is a great trip that I highly recommend. It is well-planned, perfectly organized, a great value for the money. You will visit interesting archeological sites like Troy, Pergamum, Asklepeion, Ephesus, Hierapolis, Aphrodisiac, and Hattusas. You will also visit Gallipoli and remember the half a million young men who died during the battle of the WWI. You will wonder around in the Cappadocia region visiting cave churches, restaurants carved into the tufa, and walk among the magnificent tufa formations. During your 18 days you will stay in beautiful cities like Izmir, Antalya, Ankara, and of course Istanbul with her magic Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Dolmabache Palace, Taksim Square and sail on the Bosporus. You will go back into centuries and walk where the crusaders walked, stop where people mentioned in the Bible and Koran walked, look at artefact owned by biblical figures, and will be amazed. You will also wonder around in Pamukkale bathing in the Travertines and visit ruins and museums. We traveled in May 14-June 1, 2015. The weather was nice, but a little too hot, and we had only two rainy days. Our group of 29 seasoned travelers formed a good team; there were 8 single members, couples and friends traveling together. Since we returned our mailboxes are full with letters and pictures sent to each other. Our fantastic Program Director Salih Orgun with his thick moustache, shoulder long curly hair and smiling face was a walking encyclopedia. He has a degree in medieval history and literature, highly educated in the history of the land, knows the related literature well and at the end he gave us a long list of books to read. He treated all of us equally and gave extra attention to anyone who needed. From the very first day he knew and pronounced our name properly and played nice games that we all learned the names well. He pointed one of us as a leader, our suggested that someone really wanted to show the sites to us, a wonderful way to involve all of us. He frequently gave us local sweets or snacks, constantly told us stories about his bellowed country. I have traveled with GCT and OAT several times and all the local guides were great but Salih, who made this trip wonderful, is the number one on my list! Kemal Bey our driver was also very professional and friendly. The hotels were elegant, comfortable, most of them had swimming pools, beautiful gardens and Wi-Fi connections (on the bus as well). In Istanbul we stayed at the Titanic Hotel very close to the Taksim Square and we can explore the city by walking. Istanbul is not only a magnificent city but very safe, one can wonder around during the day or in the evening enjoying the colorful local people and tourist walking, eating, buying and selling things. The Doubletree by Hilton in Avados was nice and the beds were comfortable, but it was located too far from Goreme the center of Cappadocia. Each hotel provided great buffet breakfast and dinner. Having olives for breakfast was indeed a new experience. The food was plenty and very tasty, it was almost impossible to taste everything. We also learned about Turkish food during our cooking demonstration and since I returned to the USA I have been cooking mostly Turkish dishes and my family and friends like it. We walked a lot but in a comfortable speed and nobody had any problem. Without walking you cannot really observe the sites or the cities. There were also long bus drives but we watched excellent movies about the Gallipoli battle or the Hittite history. There were plenty of bathroom stops and bottled water. There are opportunities to shop or do independent explorations. Just a few suggestion: During the school visit the students prepared a science fair for us. Please bring presents for them, like color pens, some sweet, postcards or English paperback book. There is a home hosted lunch in a village. For the local people we are the ambassador of the USA. They dress up in their best, cook, bake and welcomed us with home-made wine and bread. They will be very happy if you bring little presents to them: magnets from your town, spices, chocolate or or local soaps. Unfortunately the language barrier makes difficult to communicate. Learn a little Turkish! After I reserved my trip, I used Mango Language Turkish program through my local library. People really appreciated my effort. Do not miss cimit the local bagel, Ayran the slightly salted yogurt drink with Gosleme the local pancake and Rake the anise drink. Try Turkish bath, take a boat ride on the Mediterranean Sea near Antalya. But most importantly have a great time.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1

Tuscany & the Amalfi Coast

Dream Trip of Tuscany and the Amalfi Coast

5   2 years ago
What a way to see the beautiful countryside and meet the Italian people. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and proud to talk about their beautiful villages and towns and shops. It is just leisurely enough to enjoy and yet always there is something to do or see or learn.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Christmas Markets Along the Danube

Chistmas Markets are always a delight!

4   2 years ago
This was my 6th one & 7th river cruise. While the ship and the meals were as wonderful as always, I found the crew a bit less friendly (perhaps because it was their next-to-the-last trip of the season & maybe they were tired). The stops along the way all were charming, as well as our PD Marilus. My favorite market was Nuremberg. I had spent time, on my own, in Vienna before sailing. Others wished that they had had more time in this MARVELOUS city (now my favorite in the world, on my 4th visit & I have been ALMOST everywhere) as it has one of the very best markets. I only wish that they had had a home hosted visit. They claimed that it was because of the short duration but I have been on other trips on the same length that included one.,
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

The Great Rivers of Europe

Suited us perfectly!

5   2 years ago
We admit that we are rather easy to please when it comes to being pampered. And seriously pampered we were on GCT's Great Rivers of Europe river cruise! If you ask me to rate any aspect of the trip, I would respond with a rousing PERFECT every time. It immediately earns " trip of a lifetime" status. It was our second European river cruise and second with GC. We could not be more pleased with the quality of the cruise from top to bottom, or south to north (in the case of our particular direction from Vienna to Amsterdam).
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

The Seine: Paris to Normandy

Seine River, Normandy to Paris, FANFREAKINTASTIC!

5   2 years ago
From the time we departed Phoenix, AZ till we arrived in Paris, France, we were looking forward to this trip. Now that it is over, we can honestly say that we made the right choice! And, we cannot say enough about our fantastic Tour Director, Ken Dermer. What a pleasure and great help he was. He was extremely knowledgeable, fun, interesting and ALWAYS available to assist with any request.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Cruising Burgundy & Provence to the Cote d'Azur

Tour was good; Grand Circle policy was not

3   2 years ago
This was my first Grand Circle trip and unfortunately my husband became ill from a n insect bite at the last minute and I traveled by myself (more on that later). Fortunately we were with other couples from our home area so that helped. The tour director, Raphaele Charre, was knowledgeable and accommodating of guests? needs and interests. From the reviews, it appears that most of the program directors are well qualified. Raphaele was delightful . The itinerary was interesting. Nice was pleasant and I would have liked more time to go to the museums there. As other reviews indicate, the bull farm excursion was wonderful. I was pleasantly surprised by all that Lyon had to offer. The captain?s night time cruise of the lit monuments in Lyon was a highlight. The local guides were also excellent , particularly in Arles, Avignon, and Lyon. We all enjoyed the market excursion. I was on the _fromage? team. We were given Euros to purchase cheese, fruit, and sausages which were presented as appetizers for lunch. The crew of the Provence were terrific _ they were personable and fun. Rooms were clean and well tended. The ship, however, is in dire need of renovation. Chairs in the lounge were falling apart. The chef was excellent and provided for guests? special needs. I was happy with all of the meals. I rated the food 4 stars because of the cheap wine. It was indeed poor. The hotel in Paris, while close to the Eiffel Tower, was not close to the _happening? areas of Paris. You have a long commute to most areas that you want to visit. You also have to live out of your suitcase _ there is simply no storage other than a tiny hanging closet. I would not choose to stay here if I return. Now for my issue with Grand Circle. We did not take the trip insurance and I fully understood that I would not receive a rebate for my husband?s cancelled trip. (Fortunately I had used miles for the air portion so that was fully refunded). My daughter-in-law said she could join me. However, Grand Circle denied that even though we had fully paid for a second person. Needless to say I was very unhappy. They cited technicalities _ e.g. they needed 5 days to arrange air. Note that she was arranging and paying for her own airfare. We decided that she would join me in Paris and Grand Circle said she could not participate in any tours, even walking tours. They cited liability. Certainly a simple waiver absolving Grand Circle of liability would suffice. Given this legalese approach to my reasonable request, I doubt that I would travel with Grand Circle again.
✘ No, I do not recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Ireland in Depth

A Superb Trip to Ireland for All to See!

5   2 years ago
The wonderful, superb, experienced and humorous program director, who is a very passionate person, shared with us the history of her beautiful country. Also, the bus driver made the unit unique. With these people and the travelers, everyone interacted very well with each other. Friendships were made...hopefully, these friendships will become partners in travel. Thank you so much for this trip!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself
1 to 10 of 647 reviews