The leader in Small Ship, River Cruising, and Land Tour discoveries worldwide
Contact Us 1-800-221-2610
Grand Circle Cruise Line Reviews The Leader in Small Ship and River Cruising Worldwide
Grand Circle Travel Reviews Worldwide Discovery at Extraordinary Value Since 1958
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel
Grand Circle Travel is proud of the discovery-rich and value-packed vacations we’ve been offering travelers for more than 55 years. We believe there’s no better way to learn about our trips than by reading what travelers like you have to say about their experiences in unedited and unbiased Grand Circle Travel reviews, such as those displayed below. In them, learn about the gems of Old World Europe on one of Grand Circle Cruise Line’s award-winning River Cruise or Small Ships, during which you’ll enjoy intimate, unique experiences; or witness the breathtaking beauty of Italy’s rolling hills on an enriching Grand Circle Travel Land Tour. Whether enjoying up-close-and-personal discoveries led by our expert, resident Program Directors; connecting with local culture during exclusive Discovery Series events like Home-Hosted visits; or making memories independently during your leisure time, our vacations are the right combination of pacing and discovery for American travelers 50 and older.

Grand Circle Travel Reviews

Average Rating
4.7   4.7 | 647 reviews
590 out of 647 (91%) reviewers would recommend Grand Circle Travel or Grand Circle Cruise Line
Rating Breakdown
5 ★   517
4 ★   75
3 ★   29
2 ★   16
1 ★   10
Rating Summary
Accomodations   4
Food   4
Itinery   5
Trip Leader   5
Value   5
Recent Grand Circle Travel Reviews

Panama Canal Cruise & Panama: A Continent Divided, Oceans United

Don't Miss This One!

5   2 years ago
A wonderful combination of cultural connections, history, geography, flora and fauna, and the experience of traversing the isthmus on a catamaran through the Panama Canal. Our outstanding program director Juan Carlos Valdes Villarreal ("JC"), and a congenial group of travelers, made for a memorable trip. Suggested reading and viewing: -Book: _The Path Between the Seas: The Creation of the Panama Canal?, by David McCullough -DVD _NOVA: A Man, A Plan, A Canal, Panama? _The Panama Deception
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

The Rivieras: France, Italy & the Isles

Bella Italia via The Rivieras

5   2 years ago
We enjoyed a wonderful trip to Florence where we toured the city as well as the Chianti optional tour. Paolo was an excellent program director who shared wonderful insights of the places we visited. Then on the M/V Arethusa, we enjoyed the cruise as we visited a family for lunch in Elba. The cruise took us to wonderful ports of call which we enjoyed touring and luncheons as various cafes and restaurants. Since we could not safely sail due to weather, Corsica was replaced with a wonderful day trip to Pisa. Grand Circle and our PD, Paolo, had all contingency plans running smoothly.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

The Rivieras: France, Italy & the Isles

Great small ship cruise

5   1 year ago
This trip is both relaxing and exciting. There are many beautiful things to see along the way and the pace is not particularly challenging. A good trip for people who are new to traveling abroad or are concerned about their stamina. As always, our program director, Ilaria, was outstanding. She provided many new and varied "learning and discovery" experiences for us, and arranged a special tour for 4 of us to the American cemetery outside of Florence. It's this kind of extra attention that makes the GCT/OAT program directors so special. Being on the Arethusa for a week was a treat, although I would prefer to be on the ship for a longer period. The captain, Luka, was excellent and revised itineraries when needed because of high winds that might have made the sea crossing uncomfortable. By rearranging days and adding some other modes of transportation we didn't miss a thing, and in fact had an unplanned stop in Pisa to see the Leaning Tower and have lunch. The ability to make adjustments to the itinerary when indicated is another hallmark of GCT. The post trip extension at Turin and Lake Maggiore was excellent. Beautiful scenery and very interesting sights. It was a very full itinerary. Our PD Lisa filled our days with events and adventures.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

NEW! Bordeaux: Vineyards, Vintages & Chateaux

A Tour of Wine and Roses

5   2 years ago
I?ll start my review by saying that of my 14 OAT/GCT trips, this is my favorite. It?s not your average trip, but a superb combination of land tour and river cruise. It?s far more active than most river cruises; I was very glad to have comfortable walking shoes. The pacing, I felt, was excellent and I appreciated the chance to get a taste of the Loire Valley and to see so much of Southwest France. Several important points: There really was an emphasis on wineries; we visited several, very different, but all offering great tastings. One of the optionals offered two more wineries and the home-hosted has been replaced by a visit to a family-owned winery (we were divided into groups and visited different ones). Many of these establishments had beautiful old buildings and lush gardens, including some of the loveliest roses I?ve ever seen. There are many meals _on your own?. This wasn?t a problem for me, I usually have my main meal at lunch and I found the prices comparable with those here in Southern California. Also, we had several picnics, just buying wine, bread, cheese, desserts, etc at one of the convenient grocery stores. The hotels were clean and pleasant, but, more importantly, very well located. Les Jardins du Marais was in easy walking distance of the Place des Vosges and the Carnavalet Museum, as well as the metro and the bus lines. On the post-trip the Best Western Capitouls, quirky, but clean and comfortable, was right in the heart of the town center, with restaurants, shopping, and parks nearby. The River Chanson is a lovely ship, very comfortable, with the usual wonderful GCT staff. On this trip, the ship does not sail very much, but usually goes from one small town to the next. Take this into consideration: if you enjoy long days of sailing, looking at the passing scenery, you may be disappointed A shout-out to our wonderful guides, Barbara Teetsov and Heloise Amboise. Ladies, you made my trip marvelous!
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Myself

Essence of the Elbe: Berlin to Prague

A great trip even though...

4   2 years ago
History we had learned in school became real after seeing the sights, listening to the excellent guides and talking with local people. The planned itinerary was excellent. We were disappointed to find ourselves taking a bus trip rather than a river cruise which was not possible due to the low water level of the Elbe. It would have been better had we learned of the situation more that 5 days before leaving for the trip and been able to make arrangements to reschedule. That said, GC went out of their way to add extras, give travel credit and a refund to make up for the situation. Highlights were the kaffeeklatsch in Wittenberg and the presentation by locals. We highly recommend the extension to Poland.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Old World Prague & the Blue Danube

OLD WORLD PRAGUE ND THE BLUE DANUBE

5   2 years ago
This was our first river boat cruise and did not know what to expect. We were very please with the accommodations and Staff. We started in Prague and stayed at a hotel that was a little out of the main touristy area but it was not a long ride on the tram about 4 stops. We were met at the air port by our guide Thomas Martinez . He was very knowledgeable and charming and helped make this trip a wonderful experience. The local guides and people they had to talk to us were wonderful. We felt we got to know the people and the area. We went by bus to to pick up the ship and the bus ride was very pleasant and we made frequent stops so it was not boring. The ship was really nice and the staff was outstanding. We made very interesting stops met wonderful people. The food on the ship was very good. One of our favorite parts of the trip was the home visit and the trip to the school. We were busy all day and very tired at night. The show preformed by the staff was very funny. I would definitely recommend this trip .
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

The Seine: Paris to Normandy

Seine to Normandy

5   2 years ago
We really enjoyed this cruise that we took on the 6th of July 2015. The ship was a bit old and it had some air conditioning problems but all in all the staff and crew were wonderful. It was an important trip to have taken. The Normandy beaches was something that should be seen. We enjoyed the learning experience that was offered by the Cruise Directors before each port. Our home hosted "Tea" was just lovely. These home hosted events that Grand Circle offers is a real high light to our trips. The city of Honfleur was a gem.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Spouse/Partner

Romance of the Rhine & Mosel

Rhine & Mosel

4   2 years ago
Overall a wonderful trip. I will make one comment you might want to consider: the Bitburger you serve on the ship for lunch and dinner is fine, however the wine tastes very watered down and needs at least a little improvement.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Norwegian Coastal Voyage & Lapland

Incredibly beautiful part of the world

5   2 years ago
Each day/each hour presented another beautiful view, another thing to learn. In the US we very often do not hear about the good things happening in other countries.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Friends

Spain & Portugal in Depth

Great trip

5   2 years ago
This was an awesome trip. We learned so much about the history and culture of Spain. Our trip leader was THE best. He made everything fun and interesting and completely worry free. From the multitude of cathedrals we visited to the small and unexpected "discoveries," like the hand of St. Teresa or a cable car ride in Lisbon or pigeons in a park or the birthplace of Picasso, there was so much more to this trip than the itinerary suggests. Not that the cathedrals and palaces and museums aren't amazing, because they are, but I really appreciated all the extra knowledge that you can't get from reading a book or watching a movie. The scenery in Spain is beautiful. We went late in the season, so it was hot a few days, but all the accommodations were comfortable, as was the bus. We added both the pre-trip (Barcelona) and post-trip (Madeira) extensions, and I highly recommend both. The pre-trip helps get you acclimated before the main trip, and the post-trip was so relaxing after the busy main trip schedule that I felt a glow for a long time after I returned to work.
✔ Yes, I recommend this trip.
Accommodations
Itinerary
Value
Food
Trip Leader
Review   1


Travel Companions
Extended Family
1 to 10 of 647 reviews